top of page
  • Writer's pictureCerys Jones

~High on Life, in the Dead Sea~

The Dead Sea, a 605 km squared salt lake, lies in the Jordan Rift Valley, between Israel and Jordan. Happily basking at around 430 metres below sea level, it is the lowest land-based elevation on our planet. The water here, if you can call it that, is ten times saltier than regular sea water, and the lake is called by its joyful name because, quite frankly, nothing can survive in it.

Fun facts done, I found the water felt like oil, and although it was cool to float about lazily, the concentration of salt also irritates the skin, and made me find scrapes, cuts and wounds I didn't even know I had. Excruciating pain aside, I actually had a really fun time, and this was a truly unique experience that I would highly recommend.






bottom of page