top of page
  • Writer's pictureCerys Jones

Gather and Feast.

Hallowed ritual, that of gathering around a meal.

Some say time is the great equalizer, or on a more morbid tone, death. I would disagree, food is surely the ultimate equalizer. Everybody shits, or more pleasantly, everybody eats. No matter what country, culture or caste, we are all food-consuming creatures, and this has evolved to be such a primordial pillar of every civilization. Universal. I think it's no surprise that Jesus shared communion at supper, with friends and bread and wine. It's no secret this is one of my favourite aspects of travel, of life in general in fact.

One of the most common questions I get when I return from visiting a place is 'What was the food like? What did you eat?'. Lots, is my reply!


Above: fresh produce and local specialties from a market in Toulouse, Southern France. Shared with a friend by the river on a hot summer's day.



bottom of page